THE GENIUS OF HERMAN CAIN

Herman Cain is seeking the republican party’s presidential nomination to become the second African-American president of the USA in a row.

Never thought I’d write that sentence. That’s progress!

And Herman is getting a lot of attention and support over here.

Herman used to be the CEO of Godfather’s pizza chain.

He was in retail. So he knows the power of a good offer.

And he has one. And it’s brilliant.

9-9-9.

9% tax on corporate income.
9% personal income tax.
9% sales tax.

One thing I’ve learned is that Americans are obsessed with taxes.

Remember, this whole country basically got started because they don’t like taxes. I’m looking at you King George!

9-9-9 sounds great too. Herman is wisely betting that people will focus on the bits they like (lower taxes for me) and ignore the sales tax bit. And I bet they will too. “Hey, I can buy a second hand Maserati!”. Herman’s sales tax won’t apply to used goods. Which also suggests an environmental sustainability angle if he needs it.

But the real genius is that Herman has put something concrete (a product) out there for people to talk and think about. Not just a bunch of blather like everybody else.

I can’t tell you a single thing Romney is promising. But like all politicians he’s probably trying to cover all the bases, ie, the sensible strategy.

Cain has instead focused his message into something that gets analyzed. Something you care a lot about and something that he can potentially make happen.

And the more it gets analyzed and debated, the more people are talking about Herman Cain. And not talking about all the other guys who only offer talk.

Great marketing and great communication. In one!

9 responses to “THE GENIUS OF HERMAN CAIN

  1. This Cain is not Abel… In fact… He’s a wanker.
    But then again… All politicians are wankers.
    Cheers/George… Not the lll.

  2. Funny how Cain’s now getting attacked on all sides since he got some media face-time.

    A similar thing happened in the last UK general election when, during a live TV debate, David Cameron and Gordon Brown both kept saying “I agree with Nick”.

    After the subsequent media attention Nick Clegg got, they both started disagreeing with him vehemently, until the votes came in and it turned out he got to choose who to side with to form a government. They then spent two weeks kissing his arse, the spineless bastards.

    Politicians, eh? Same the world over.

    • i really think this guy has a shot at the nomination. all the rest are just boring white guys, let’s face it. including michelle bachmann! Herman showed up with a plan.

  3. Let me tell you how it will be
    One for you, nineteen for me
    If you think that it’s too small
    Be thankful I don’t take it all…
    Yeah Yeah I’m the taxman—Sir George Harrison, OBE

    • Tom, did you see the recent Scorsese GEORGE documentary? Terry Gilliam tells how at the very end of his life George Harrison was considering buying a home in Switzerland simply to avoid UK taxes. George and that guy Grover Norquist would have gotten along.

  4. Sure but 999 upside down means the loss of the evangelical vote…
    or the end of the world…

  5. i always thought george was underrated—-i loved “here comes the sun” as much as any beatle song…….
    i don’t think, though, there is any cap gain tax in the uk which is why ogilvy made sure he was firmly in the uk when they went public……..
    i haven’t seen the documentary….will do ASAP….must have not noticed it….scorsese seems to be working more than ever….
    9-9-9 has other weirdnesses:
    9 times 9 times 9 is 729 which adds up to 18 (7+2+9) which itself adds up to 9
    and the reverse, 81 (72+9), when added that way…. 81(8+1), of course, also adds up to 9…….as does the sum of 9+9+9 (27 or 2+7 which also equals 9………999 is far more mystical than 666…………….

  6. and the full lyric

    Let me tell you how it will be
    There’s one for you, nineteen for me
    Cos I’m the taxman, yeah, I’m the taxman

    Should five per cent appear too small
    Be thankful I don’t take it all
    Cos I’m the taxman, yeah I’m the taxman

    If you drive a car, I’ll tax the street
    If you try to sit, I’ll tax your seat
    If you get too cold I’ll tax the heat
    If you take a walk, I’ll tax your feet

    Taxman!
    Cos I’m the taxman, yeah I’m the taxman

    Don’t ask me what I want it for (Aahh Mr. Wilson)
    If you don’t want to pay some more (Aahh Mr. Heath)
    Cos I’m the taxman, yeah, I’m the taxman

    Now my advice for those who die
    Declare the pennies on your eyes
    Cos I’m the taxman, yeah, I’m the taxman

    And you’re working for no one but me
    Taxman!

Leave a Reply

