NOTES FROM DELIRIUM

I had the great good fortune to recently spend two days nursing a severe cold at home.

On a couch. Watching TV.

Falling in and out of a fever.

I won’t pretend I haven’t experienced far more mind-altering things than a fever in my spare time.

I have.

But there’s always something special about fever-induced thoughts. Money can’t buy them.

So I’m watching TV. And the overall effect I’m getting is one of anxiety. TV is so driven by your NOT clicking away that it all becomes a bit too antic.

There’s an undeniable rule of TV: keep em viewing!

And it shows.

Another thing that became apparent was how lousily produced the ads were. Except one!

I vividly recall trying to concentrate on the offers of some ads and failing miserably. They all went by too fast.

Granted, I was in a fever. But still. Aren’t we all in some kind of fever, all the time? Think about that.

4 responses to “NOTES FROM DELIRIUM

  1. You can actually watch TV with a fever? Wow. I can’t handle it after ten minutes and just go back to bed.

  2. Vinny,

    This is a video adaptation of Todd Alcott’s Poem “Television is a Drug.” You may have already seen it but I think it’s a great representation of the ensnaring power of ‘the glowing box’. Enjoy!

    Television is a drug. from Beth Fulton on Vimeo.

Leave a Reply

