NEW YORK SHARPENS YOU

I am very glad I lived in New York City when I was in my early 20s. I was still absorbent and flexible.

It was a formative experience. I lived there for five years and really liked it. If you’re impatient, you’ll love New York.

I experienced the city from a surprisingly numerous points of view in the time I was there. I went from bottom of the rung immigrant (albeit white, educated, legal and English-speaking) to a minor peak in the foothills creative advertising world in two years. It felt like twenty years. New York takes it out of you.

I remember showing my green card with my pic to the HR girl when I finally got my dream ad agency job. My green card had been issued two years previously.

She took one look at it, and then at me, and in a tone right from the lips of Samantha from Sex And The City, said “Boy, Noo Yawk really did a number on you kid!”

New York had done a number on me. It took me two years to get what I wanted.

Back then that was an eternity!

3 responses to “NEW YORK SHARPENS YOU

  1. Haha, that’s a fantastic quote. Hopefully I’ll experience that soon.

    Although, I do have one question about NYC – how is the ad-scene now compared to when you were there?

    (I only ask, as a few people have told me that NYC is more business-led whereas the West Coast is more creative-led. I would have thought it would be the other way around, what with all the great agencies/people that came from the Big Apple).

    Cheers.

  2. i knew i wrote that post for somebody. it was you guy!

    when i was there it wasn’t that great and it honestly hasn’t gotten that much better. cliff freeman was the brightly blazing shop when i was there. and the only one really.

    the west coast is more happening now. 72andsunny are amazing. and crispin is still a major force of course. but it’s not the best time creatively.

Leave a Reply

