‎”I believe very strongly in first impressions. When something hits you and excites your interest, there’s really no reason to kill it with improvements.” Clint Eastwood on his new movie, *Hereafter*.

I couldn’t agree more with Clint.

I have been lucky enough to have had a lot of creative freedom throughout my career. I like to think some of that luck is down to me putting myself in my client’s shoes. And imagining what they view as success. And then doing my damnedest to achieve that.

Creative freedom means the freedom to respond to your first impressions and act on them without too much interference. A certain amount of self- filtering is just necessary and good. But after a while nothing gets through the sieve!

And most problems simply aren’t that complicated. They just aren’t. And there’s a lot to be said for taking the path of least resistance.

Therefore all you’re left with is execution. So hire people who can execute really well.

Wow. Think i just solved American advertising!

Time for a beer.

*thank you eoghan nolan for this quote!

6 responses to “‎”I believe very strongly in first impressions. When something hits you and excites your interest, there’s really no reason to kill it with improvements.” Clint Eastwood on his new movie, *Hereafter*.

  1. Eoghan coined ‘Time for a Beer’?

    ‘Therefore all you’re left with is execution. So hire people who can execute really well.’ – was this lifted from a a Mafia How To Manual?

    =)

    BTW Clint rules

  2. that’s very true howie. the italian mob executed better than all the other ethnic mob groups. just better at it!

  3. My favourite Clint Eastwood quote is “Sure I’m in favour of gun-control. If there’s a gun around I want to be on control of it.”

  4. Legendary soccer (u.s terminology) manager Bill Shankly said, “Football is a simple game made complicated by people who should know better.” I think that analogy can easily be applied to most business let alone advertising but please don’t tell me you believe that one should only hire stylists though.
    Sir John of Hegarty said Advertising was 80% idea 80% execution. I believe that but then again it’s your ball and you can do what you want with it, although picking it up and only letting certain types play is not very meritocratic. In words of the playground ‘it’s a bit mardy’.

  5. you seem to agree a lot these days ;-)

  6. what life Clint has had dave. movie star, mayor, director, octegenarian wizard.

    and yes riki, finding way too many things to agree with lately. have to watch that. Careful now!

    john, i agree with Bill Shankly. i don’t mean only hire stylists. I just mean, like Sir John of Hegarty says, that execution is as important as strategy. for me it’s a given that the strategy will be sound. but that’s the easy part. the execution is the only bit the average punter will see and react to/not react to.

Leave a Reply

