Daily Archives: October 19, 2009

I got a new sticker for my Mac! (Am I running out of material?)

Sorry but some things are just too good not to comment on. I think this is one of them. Lots of folks got apple mac computers that they would just love to personalize, but dread marring what is a pretty sweet design. so creating apple logo centric things is a very smart way to go. it enhances what’s already there. and kind of pays homage to it too.

i got this doozy via Vinylville on etsy.com. It’s called “Snow White’s Revenge”. Snow White…apple…etc. don’t ask me what the mask is about. that’s why it’s art!!! Only 15 bucks.

i just know i will spend a lot of time explaining where i got this from. so i figured i might as well start now.

Here we go…

il_430xN.96937619-1

Balloon Boy, Twitter, and the Online News Eclipse

i am a big fan and user of twitter. for a creative person it’s great mental chewing gum and generally keeps your pulse active. and, increasingly it’s serving as a news service, albeit an unfiltered and not always reliable one.

So when the Balloon Boy story hit twitter i was on it. Of course I was completely 100% suckered and totally believed that there was a six year old boy floating above Colorado. I had no reason to believe otherwise. I have an eight year old son myself and could readily imagine how such a thing might happen.

The Ballloon Boy story was the perfect example of an ONLINE NEWS ECLIPSE. I just coined that term btw, so all royalties this way please. An online news eclipse is what happens when a story like Balloon Boy (great human interest, bizarre, happening “live”) instantly monpolizes the attention of everyone , blotting out (or eclipsing!) all the traditional news outlets. It was an instant viral hit literally within minutes of first being reported. How we feel about the story can overwhelm what’s actually happening. Or not happening in this case. I was freaking out at the thought of a little six year old in almost certain mortal terror. As was any parent.

Turns out the whole thing was a fake. There was no balloon boy. Just another wannabe who wanted to get his face on TV at any cost. Well he got his wish. Thought not in the way he wanted. 15 years ago this would have been a blip on the news at ten. Now it can dominate our attention for hours. LIVE!

I get the feeling we are going to see a lot more of this. It’s inevitable. We’re all so connected and inter-connected on such a granular level that we no longer have time to think. We just react.

The whole episode reminded me of a quote about the future of media i saw years ago that had a huge influence on me professionally. It went something like…IN THE FUTURE PEOPLE WILL NO LONGER THINK AND READ. THEY WILL MERELY WATCH AND FEEL.

Kind of feels like we’re at that point. And I don’t know if it’s a good thing or a bad thing. Or, most probably, a good thing and a bad thing.