He ain’t heavy, he’s my brother

For some reason this beer ad popped into my head the other day. I guess on some level i will always have beer on my mind to some extent. It’s in my blood. No, literally. It’s in my blood right now as i type. Mmm…beer!

It was done for Miller Lite in the late 80s in the UK. the 80s were a great decade for beer advertising in the UK. The campaigns were seriously innovative. I had the good fortune to grow up watching them as a teenager in Ireland. From Dave Trott’s (And Steve Henry’s) hilarious work for Holsten Pils to The Carling Black Label greatness, and this little gem from the tail end of the 80s. This was different. The lessons of BBH’s Levis TV work had not been lost on whoever did this. What blew me away about this ad was the design and texture of the band scenes. They worked on a visceral level.

They’re basically showing an English dude going to the pub. Hardly a notable event, to say the least.

The song was perfect too. Anyone know who did this? As an ad geek i should know and want to know. The Courage sign on the pub at the end means BMP did it i’m guessing.

Enjoy!

2 responses to “He ain’t heavy, he’s my brother

  1. i’ve always loved this spot, too. have used it as an example of sidling up to a proposition many a time.
    it would have run 1987, and you’re right about it being BMP. I feel like it was the usual suspects: John Webster and Frank Budgen, but I could be wrong about that.

  2. Dion,

    It does feel Budgen-esque. And it really made me want a pint of Miller Lite.

    That’s what I loved about the beer ads from back then. They hit the right note. Fosters with Paul Hogan, XXXX, Carling etc. I must have switched lager about ten times in the 80s. It was thirsty time!

Leave a Reply

