Ship happens!

Congratulations to former Escape Pod client Mark Andeer for approving this piece of ship.

What I love about this ad is that you can’t argue with it. And if you do, you’re a fool.

But what I really love is that it’s closing in on 15 million hits on youtube. Niiice!

14 responses to “Ship happens!

  1. Pardon me for being a fool… But this piece of “ship” is a piece of “shit.” As I have posted on “AdScam” how can you go home at night and when your kids ask, “what did you do today, Dad?” You tell tell them that you did an ad about how ship your pants… Always remember… This will be the primary reason why they never go into the ad biz. And, hits on YouTube are supposed to signify what???
    Cheers/George “AdScam” Parker

  2. Forgive my stridency George. You’re not the only one who drinks and blogs.

    But come on, this ship is funny. it just is.

    And since when is lowbrow humour necessarily a bad thing? Next you’ll be denying Benny Hill’s genius if you’re not careful. We are in American in 2013 after all. Have you seen what’s on TV? Mother of Jesus Christ!

    All my kids had already seen this btw, and they loved it.

    This ad is getting an insane amount of free media and buzz. This is the best case scenario.

    But i do take your point about being ashamed of what I make. If the kids aren’t digging it, it’s time to hang it up.

    • As I have posted before… Subservient Chicken and The King pulled millions of hits on YouTube… For seven years, sales went down, the stock tanked and CP+B claimed they had discovered the Holy Grail of advertising… Until they were fired. Views – Hits – Friends – Whatever mean fuck all. I GUARANTEE, “Shit MY Pants” will sell shit… Sorry to be an old curmudgeon… But I’ve been around this track a few times… Plus… To reiterate one final time… I would be ashamed to own up to this kind of juvenile dreck.. Sorry.. That’s just my humble opinion. Yeah… What the fuck do I know?
      Cheers/George

  3. I would disagree George. Let’s face it, this is the first time in ages anyone has heard of Kmart. And what they’re saying (very baldly and overtly) is actually something that helps them compete with amazon. no mean feat.

    and unlike, Subservient Chicken, this one actually has appeal to real non-advertising folks. at least 15 million of them.

    there’s no denying this is juvenile, puerile, infantile even. But a laugh is a laugh, I would argue. Even if it does emanate from draftFCB/chicago. A stopped clock is right twice a day George.

    • Vinny, I agree that the ad itself is brilliantly done, not only because it’s grabbing attention and giving us a laugh, but because the humor is intrinsic to the offer.

      What I have my doubts about is whether the offer itself (as separate from the ad which delivers it) is any darn good and will have any appreciable impact on sales. What I keep asking myself is: if I want to shop online, why the hell would I go to Kmart to do it? Hell, I’ll hop on Amazon and not only get free shipping, but get free 2nd-day shipping.

      And if I want to shop in-store, I’ll go to Wal-Mart or Taget because they’ll actually have what I want in stock, rather than making up for the fact that they don’t have it in stock by offering me a digitally augmented raincheck.

      Will this offer save some in-store sales that might have otherwise been lost? I think so. It’ll grab some of that because, thanks to the clever ad, people will think to ask for the service. But will that be enough to justify the ad. And will the offered service convince anyone to START shopping at kmart?

      I just can’t see that happening. The ad is clever and well done. That I CAN see. The offer? Meh. Can’t see it doing anything for anyone. Free shipping for online shopping is not exactly a barn burner.

      • theescapepod

        Your analysis is sound Jeff. Having worked a lot on big box retailers I concur that the offer is everything.

        But at least this is news for the brand. And it will lead to some incremental business.

        And it has led to something that freshens up the Kmart brand in popular culture, something that was almost unimaginable. Hats off for that.

  4. @George Parker – Pointing out Subservient Chicken’s hit-to-sales ratio is about as relevant as highlighting Old Spice or Dollar Shave Club, so let’s do that. Combined, they had a zillion hits and sold shit loads. Ship my pants will do the same, I’m sure of it.
    Please explain why you have such venom towards this ad? I’m genuinely interested to know.

  5. glad you posted this, vinny. i agree with you. as for parker’s comments re: subservient chicken, i think it’s only fair to consider its ad value in relation to the client ask.

    kmart – let consumers know that kmart can ship products to the store. cherry on top is that it’s memorable, spread like wildfire and disruptive for the category (esp. the brand).

    subservient chicken – you really think the task was to save burger king or increase sales? maybe indirectly and ultimately, any client must be kidding if they think a web idea is going to save their business. after all, they’re not in the web business.

    but what both of them did was take risks without being pretentious or sucking their own cocks about it. and all in all, i’m sure they had fun doing it. so if i were to tell my kids that i have fun coming up with ideas (shit jokes or not) for a living, then hell yeah.

    • Subservient Chicken was part of a multipronged assault on the teenage American male mind, which was CPB’s strategy for the brand: go after teenage males.

      So on that level of course SC led to increased sales. it made BK seem way cooler than McDs.

      And both of these examples, like every other great ad, put the audience reaction first. Will they love it?

      Because consumers react to execution, not strategy. Nobody gives a shit about your strategy. They give a shit about what you do.

      • OK, I’m quoting this from now on: “Because consumers react to execution, not strategy. Nobody gives a shit about your strategy. They give a shit about what you do.” That needs to be inscribed in stone. It’s the equal of “Brand positioning is theft and warefare.” Love.

        If I were to play devil’s advocate, I might say that consumers interpret strategy as relevance, as in my earlier comment about the offer. But even then, I think that could fall into the category of “what you do.”

  6. +1 on that quote. so insightful. there were so many times where i’ve presented ideas to CDs and they’d respond w/ “well, what’s the line? the strat?”

    “you’re focusing too much on execution.”

    no shit. isn’t that the end product? now, here’s my idea for the execution. and how it can have legs. now 1) do you think it’s good? 2) is it appropriatre for the target? 3) is this something the brand would say?

    i really don’t know why it needs to get harder and more complicated than that.

  7. Hey guys,
    Looks like I’m a little late to the party.
    Thanks to The Escape Pod for showing some love and respect for the work.
    I’m curious to hear thoughts on the ad below.

    Mark

  8. sorry i’m so late getting back to you mark. new blog location on new website, on vacation etc. i love that spot too. and, i notice you started a trend. last night i heard a radio spot for something that actually did a pretty good job of ripping your idea off. every sentence was almost a swear word. that ship just doesn’t get old. and congrats on all your cannes statuary. well earned man.

Leave a Reply

